World Cup – VAR is wrong? Explain why Japan’s controversial goal was ruled valid

by admin

Japan defeated Spain 2-1 in the final round of Group E matches at the World Cup in a crucial match that decided the outcome of the tournament, and Japan’s second goal in the match caused much controversy.

In the 51st minute of the match, Japan’s Doan Ryu passed the ball to the right side of the box, Mishou Maki returned the ball to the bottom line of the box and Tanaka Bi scored to make the score 2-1. After a lengthy VAR review, referee Victor Gomez finally ruled that the goal was valid, giving Japan a 2-1 lead.

Had the goal been ruled out of bounds early, Germany, who ended up third in the group stage, would have advanced to the round of 16. The importance of this penalty kick cannot be overemphasized.
In fact, it was indeed a very difficult situation to judge. Visually, the ball appears to have crossed the line as a whole. However, looking at it from a different angle will give a different result. It is understood that FIFA did not put out all the views of VAR and the ball was still actually overlapping the bottom line in a tangential manner.

Although the referee, and FIFA officials, felt the call was accurate, it will still be one of the most controversial calls in World Cup history, one that will last for a long time.

You may also like

Leave a Comment